Do you have too many friends dying young?

I lost both my parents years ago, and my grandparents, aunts and uncles, before that. When you’re a kid and almost everyone you know who dies is “old,” it seems to make sense. Then there was a War – albeit undeclared – and I lost school friends: Tragic but understandable. Soldiers die in wartime. Then I started losing more friends, mostly to cancer. That hurt. Now I’m losing more friends and acquaintances and it’s getting harder, somehow, because most of them were younger.

Recently I lost two friends to preventable, manageable health issues, and one to suicide, which seems even more tragic. Their services were sad reminders that live is short.

Here’s the advice I’m giving myself: You may have a few better ideas.

  • Value what and who you have in the moment.
  • Take care of yourself, at least for those who love you, if not for yourself.
  • Reach out for help when you need it.
  • Help when you’re asked.
  • Minimize regrets for actions not taken.
  • And maybe – go to more dinners and fewer funerals, with friends and family
This entry was posted in Death, Loss and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

