Chapter 2, Home Improvements: One vendor withdraws

Update: I think I insulted one of the potential contractors for my fixture reglazing project. (This is a contractor I found on my own, who only has one posted review on Angie’s List, from 2009.) He withdrew his bid after I asked a series of  questions about his process. (It is different from the process proposed by other vendors.)  I also had told him I would be posting a post-job completion review on Angie’s List.

Since there are lots of vendors who provide this service, his decision simplifies mine, but I had to laugh. “Do not question the great and powerful Wizard of Oz!”  The issue is how many coats of the final finish are needed to ensure best durability.  Two other vendors do four coats; the opted out vendor says two are  adequate.

Since that vendor does a lot of repeat work for apartment complexes, adequate may be fine for a management company, but this homeowner will opt for something that’s potentially longer-lasting.

Thanks for playing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

